Out & About; More Plus-Size Fashion Week Fun!

As I previously mentioned, I had the priviledge of attending several FFFWeek events with the lovely Tamara Walker of The Curvy Socialite. Thursday found me at “Curves, Connections & Cocktails” at District 36 . It was sponsored by Catherines, an “an extraordinary online space designed to give you a voice, celebrate the individual, and connect in the spirit of community”. They had a fun step-and-repeat where curvy fashionistas got a chance to showcase their fave personality traits. You can guess which one I chose!

Did you REALLY think I’d pick something else?

The girls were killing it with the summer fashion looks at the event. I had a hard time picking my ‘look of the evening’- that is until Domonique Revere of Empress Lingerie came and shut it DOWN with this red jumpsuit!  I am in love.

Friday was the “Indie Designers Showcase” at the Broad Street Ballroom, and I had the pleasure of seeing my girl Asia Monet do her thing on the runway! It was an expertly produced event and even had a few celebrities in attendance- I sat behind Faith Evans and Syleena Johnson! Fab!

Obviously that is not Asia. But I respect the designers, so you get the runway!

What I really loved most about my FFFWeek experience was not the fashion or the hob-nobing, but the sisterhood. It was everything that fashion week is not; inclusive, supportive, it promoted comeraderie & sisterhood, there was nary a catty girl in sight- and I left feeling better than when I entered. I applaud FFFW creator Gwen DeVoe for what she has built over the last five years, and wish her every bit of success. If only all fashion could be like this!

One thought on “Out & About; More Plus-Size Fashion Week Fun!

Leave a Reply

