So….About That Resolution…..

Happy 2013! I am certain by now you are knee-deep in your New Years’ resolutions (with one foot out, of course). With this being only the first week in January I thought why not give it a shot?

I am normally not one for resolutions, partly because “resolving” to do something doesn’t mean you’ll actually do it. It is more of a decision to change a behavior, but not quite an actual goal, and I think that’s where a lot of people go wrong. For example, there is a HUGE difference between:

“I resolve to get more healthy”

And:

“I plan to go to the gym 3x a week and eat clean breakfasts and dinners”

Resolutions are best kept to a behavioral change or a decision to stop a behavioral pattern you did not like, as that is only one step. Everything else should be a goal, with a specific plan involving several steps. For example, I have added resolutions to my goals for the new year for the first time in ages. I have pretty lofty goals this year as I feel I have a lot of “catching up” to do after a few years being in a bit of a “comfort zone”. I realize a body in motion stays in motion and I function best when I am busy, so here are a few examples below:

RESOLUTIONS:

*I resolve to write things down and reinstate my “To Do” Goal Notebook & Food Journal (note: this resolution is one step. You either write, or you don’t. If I don’t remind myself often to do this I tend to fall into the habit of relying on my photographic memory and post-its. Not cool.)

*I resolve to speak up when a friend, significant other or family member over-extends or takes advantage of my giving nature, instead of stewing and blowing up later.

*I resolve to clearly state my wants or needs, whether in a relationship, friendship or at the workplace, instead of assuming the person can non-verbally assess what I require from them (ooohhh, this is a hard one. I come from the school of “some things are worthless if you have to ask for them”, but I am learning that it is better to assume “a closed mouth doesn’t get fed”).

*I resolve to ask, every time I want to do something for a person, “why” I am doing it (am I coming from a selfless place? Or is this action “relationship collateral”? Do I expect reciprocity, or will I hold this action against a person later? Will assisting this person over-extend or exhaust me past a point I am comfortable with? Do I feel ‘forced’ into this, as if the person would remove me as a friend if I did not help?).

GOALS:

*I will break a sweat 5x a week, for 20 minutes minimum (up from 2x, lol).

*I will produce one event for the Pageant Industry by June of this year.

*I will gain five more coaching clients.

*I will take active steps to advance my career.

Now, obviously the reason the goals list is so short in explanation is because each goal requires steps that I will not bore you with elaborating on here. Each of my goals is broken down into quarterly “reachables” that I re-evaluate every three months and adjust. As for my resolutions, we will see how that goes. I will note my progress and check back with you in March!

How about you? Do you have any goals or resolutions for 2013? Put it in the universe!

 

Leave a Reply

