Vice President Joe Biden Selects Sonia Sotomayor to Administer Oath of Office

Congrats are in order!

Today the Presidential Inaugural Committee announced Vice President Joe Biden has selected the Supreme Court Justice to conduct his inaugural swearing-in for his second term of office. Sotomayor will administer the oath of office to Biden at a private ceremony on Sunday, Jan. 20, and at a public ceremony the following day.

“It’s an incredible honor to have Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor swear me in,” Biden said in a statement. “I believed strongly that she would make a great justice, and it was one of the greatest pleasures of my career to be involved in her selection to the court.

“From the first time I met her, I was impressed by Justice Sotomayor’s commitment to justice and opportunity for all Americans, and she continues to exemplify those values today,” Biden said. “Above all, I’m happy for the chance to be sworn in by a friend—and someone I know will continue to do great things.”

Sotomayor is the fourth female judge and the first Hispanic person to administer an oath of office. I know I’ll be tuning in!!

One thought on “Vice President Joe Biden Selects Sonia Sotomayor to Administer Oath of Office

Leave a Reply

