Workwear With Sabor; Eva Mendez to Design Line for New York & Co!

196_eva_mendes-901196-large_image-901196-large_image

Get ready to spice up your work attire!

WWD announced this morning that the work-wear giant New York and Co is teaming up with Mendez to create Eva by Eva Mendes, the clothier’s first dip into day-to-dinner, cocktail and evening wear.

As reported by WWD, CFO Greg Scott realized the company’s shortcomings in the day-to-dinner market, where he noted his loyal customers were reaching outside the brand to source those looks. “There’s a huge business in day to dinner,” Scott added. “We have none of that business in our store. “

The line will be produced quarterly and adheres to the company’s “affordable luxury” standards, something Eva feels strongly about. “I grew up in a very lower middle class household,’ Mendes said. “For me it’s about getting that bargain. I’m not necessarily wearing designer clothes when I’m not on the red carpet.”

In addition to working closely with New York & Co on the design end, Mendez will also be on hand for personal appearances and engaging the brand directly to customers through the retailer’s blog and social media accounts.

I don’t know about you but I. AM. STOKED!!!! One of the things I adored about Sofia Vergara’s line is it addressed many concerns us curvy/hourglass gals have with clothing. I have to get most of my NY & Co pieces tailored, so it will be interesting to see what she comes up with! I will definitely be on line for the New York launch. See you there!

Leave a Reply

