Opinion: The problem with “Devious Maids” goes far beyond Hollywood

I’ve been very conflicted to write an opinion on this, as I have been a big supporter of the producers and actors involved. But I have to be honest, I completely agree with this article. There are too many Latinos in this country for us not to use our leverage to get better stories out there.

NBC Latino

Six years ago, I had a deal with Lifetime Television to develop my bestselling novel, The Dirty Girls Social Club, as a TV series. It soon became clear that the relationship wasn’t going to work, when two executives insisted that my pilot outline “wasn’t Latin enough,” because it told of middle class, educated American women who happened to be Latina.

“This reads as if it were about me and my friends,” complained one executive in disgust.

I didn’t know how to respond, so I asked her what she’d prefer.

“Why don’t we make the girls debating whether or not to date men in prison? I know that’s what Latinas talk about, just like it’s what black women talk about.”

Right. Because all middle class, college-educated professional women talk about dating prisoners.

In her dreams.

I got out of that deal because of this idiocy, and never looked back.

Fast forward…

View original post 1,901 more words

Leave a Reply

